Why I became a software engineer

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

First, permit me to be truthful and sincere. I say this because I've read many articles of people saying things like passion and an inherent ability or love for tech made them choose the software development path.

I decided to become a software developer simply because of Hunger. Yes, Hunger!

Now this hunger is of two kinds.

First hunger for a good life. You see, I am from Nigeria and I follow tech bros and tech trends on Twitter and I see how much money these tech bros make and the quality of their lives, at least on social media, and how they can literally afford anything they want even in the worsening economy the leaders of Nigeria has forced us into and all I ask myself is how did they get to earn so much even more than those who read professional courses in the university? And the answer I get is that they write codes. So I wrote codes too, hopefully, soon I'll get to afford to buy a MacBook, hire a housekeeper, drive the latest cars, live in mansions, and travel for holidays to the Maldives. I mean, like a common saying in pidgin English goes, "who no like better thing" [Who does not like good things?]

Second, and secondary is the hunger for innovation.

I have seen how much technology can positively change our world and I want to be one of those driving this change.

Especially as someone who read a medical course in the university, I know for sure that there is more life-saving innovation yet to be invented that I hope to invent. Many people die avoidable deaths in Nigeria because of the poor healthcare system, which is mainly negligent of technology.

I hope you don't judge me as being selfish; I am just being sincere.

#4articles4weeks #week1